Love Junkie – Rachel Resnick

9 Apr


Follow Me on Pinterest

Review by Alison

” a memoir of love and sex addiction”.

Love Junkie was a crazy roller coaster ride with Rachel taking you to the lowest dip. Through the ups and downs are accounts of her insane relationships with her multiple lovers and her mother, who was also a “love junkie”  and an alcoholic, using men to try and heal wounds with Rachel as a young girl and her brother, a toddler, raising themselves.

Shit just got real.

Rachel is a “love junkie” for many years and many relationships. Finally as she grows she starts to think, “Why am I like this?” and decides to find out.

I was so proud of her at this point. I felt like I had just been through this traumatizing journey and there was light at the end of the tunnel.

I did feel frustrated at some points, as you I could see the same pattern emerging in all her relationships. I just wanted to yell at her, “Stop! Look behind you!”,  just as I would to the TV in a horror film. Still, It is the most eye-opening novel I have read.  I could not put it down.

One brave chick.

Leave a comment